Harry Turpin’s losing his girl… and maybe his mind! Find out why in CLOAK!

The Sovereign Era: Year One

Storyworld: The Sovereign Era | Series Name:
Reading Order: 3 | Stand Alone? Yes
Genres: Alternate History, Fiction, Speculative Fiction | Editions: E-Book, Printed Books, Quality Paperback

The Sovereign Era: Year One is an anthology of seven short stories set in the first year of the Sovereign Era, when the appearance of individuals with remarkable powers forever alters human destiny.


Presenting a glimpse into the first year of the Sovereign Era! The seven stories in The Sovereign Era: Year One take place between the events depicted in the two volumes of the Charters Duology (Brave Men Run and Pilgrimage).

The Sovereign Era began in April of 1985, when Dr. William Karl Donner revealed that super-powered metahumans existed, declared their autonomy, and demonstrated his ability to enforce that demand. Arrangements between Donner and the government of the United States resulted in the establishment of the Donner Institute for Sovereign Studies, a compound in central Montana where the “Sovereigns” could find refuge and learn more about themselves.

Over the next twelve months, while the world struggled to deal with the political and social repercussions caused by the existence of the Sovereigns, the metahumans themselves mostly tried to find their place in the world.

That’s what these stories are about.


Mur Lafferty | Jared Axelrod | Nathan Lowell | P. G. Holyfield | J. R. Blackwell | Matt Wallace | J. C. Hutchins

Cover art by Jeffery Himmelman.

30,400 words.


0) Hazy Days and Cloudy Nights: How It All Got Started (free online serial)

1) Brave Men Run

2) The World Revolves Around You

3) The Sovereign Era: Year One

4) Canary In a Coal Mine

5) Pilgrimage

6) The News From Bewilder Pond

If you liked what you see here… share this with the folks you think would like it, too!

Earn money when you promote and sell my books and other creative works!
Apply to become an affiliate.